Inifinite Limits Symbol
Basket (0)

Search Results: 6 found, Filter: Artist, Peter Brotzmann

Konstrukt, Peter Brötzmann, Huseyin Ertunc,  Dogan Dogusel,  Barlas Tan Ozemek / Eklisia Sunday / Vinyl LP / Holidays Records / HOL095
Eklisia Sunday was recorded live in front of a small audience on May 15th, 2011 at Eklisia - an old chapel built in the 17th century in Gümüşlük, a small village near Bodrum. This improvisation features the Konstrukt collective - which is Korhan Futacı (tenor & soprano saxophones), Umut Çağlar (electric guitar), Özün Usta (double bass, djembe, gong, bells), Korhan Argüden (drums) - incredibly enriched by the presence of Peter Brötzmann (on tenor), Hüseyin Ertunç (acoustic piano, küstüfon, gong), Doğan Doğusel (double bass, küstüfon) and Barlas Tan Özemek (electric guitar). The result of the combination is simply marvelous, because Brötzmann's unique phrases perfectly match with the sound of what confirms to be a well-coordinated collective. "The Turkish free jazz outfit Konstrukt might be considered the most evolved improvisational band working in jazz today. Founded, not in the hotbeds of jazz, London, New York, Chicago, Wuppertal or Krakow, their isolation is the key to their success. Well, isolation and observation." -- Mark Corroto, All About Jazz. Edition of 350."
Peter Brotzmann, Marino Pliakas, Michael Wertmüller (Full Blast) / Full Blast / Vinyl LP /  Jazzwerkstatt / jw10001
Heavyweight European free-jazz/improv from Full Blast, the trio of Peter Brotzmann, Marino Pliakas, Michael Wertmuller. The pieces on this heavyweight vinyl LP issue were performed and recorded in Cologne, Germany, in February 2006. Released on the Jazzwerkstatt label.
Peter Brötzmann, Steve Noble / I Am Here Where Are You / CD / Trost Records / TR122
Peter Brötzmann, Steve Noble / I Am Here Where Are You / CD / Trost Records / TR122
Peter Brötzman, Bill Laswell / Low Life/Last Exit / Vinyl LP / Jazzwerkstatt / JW10012
Artist: Peter Brötzman, Bill Laswell Title: Low Life/Last Exit Format: Vinyl LP, Limited Edition, Heavyweight Vinyl, Gatefold Sleeve Label: Jazzwerkstatt Catalogue #: JW10012 Country: Germany Date Released: July 2013
Peter Brotzmann, Jason Adasiewicz, John Edwards, Steve Noble / Mental Shake / Vinyl LP / Otoroku / ROKU010
Our tenth OTOROKU release sees a return to the group that kick-started the label - the veteran German reedsman and free jazz pioneer Peter Broetzmann with the long-running London bass/drums partnership of John Edwards and Steve Noble. After the release of '…The Worse The Better' that group went on to play a series of devastating shows in Europe and to emerge as one of Broetzmann's finest working groups. Over the same period Peter was developing a deep rapport with Jason Adasiewicz, the upstart vibraphone player from Chicago. What seems on paper like an awkward pairing reveals itself on stage and on record as a symbiotic revelation. Adasiewicz's physical attack matching Broetzmann for impact whilst the extended sustain of the vibes opens up an eerie space for some of Broetzmann's most fertile lyricism. The recording is from the last set of a two-day residency at Cafe OTO that brought these two groups together for an astonishing quartet. Adasiewicz and Noble struck up an immense partnership in rhythm. Edwards wrestled with a broken house bass and failing amplifier and still managed new levels of invention - stoking the others onwards. Broetzmann was clearly energised - I swear I saw him dancing at the side of the stage whilst exchanging a shattered reed. And for all the usual rhetoric of Free Jazz bluster and machismo, this is a meeting characterised by the joy of communal creation that makes you want to dance - even if only in your head.
Keiji Haino, Peter Brötzmann, Jim O'Rourke / Two City Blues 1 / Vinyl LP / Trost / TR126
One of two different sets, along with Two City Blues 2 (TROST 128CD), recorded on one intense night at Tokyo's Shinjuku Pit Inn. A trio of three towering figures, German free jazz legend Peter Brötzmann, Japanese avant-garde wizard Keiji Haino, and wildly versatile American composer and musician Jim O'Rourke, recorded by Yasuo Fujimura on November 23, 2010. Brötzmann: alto and tenor saxophones, tarogato, and clarinet; Haino: guitar, voice, shamisen; O'Rourke: guitar.